Section Spotlight: Young Physicians Section (YPS)

December 2020/January 2021 – Vol. 39, No. 11

Focused on Collaboration and Inclusion

Nausheen Jamal, MD, YPS Chair

Nausheen Jamal, MD
YPS Chair

The YPS kicked off an exciting new year of activities with an engaged and well-attended General Assembly at the AAO-HNSF 2020 Virtual Annual Meeting & OTO Experience, hosted by David S. Cohen, MD, our Immediate Past Chair. Dr. Cohen highlighted some of the YPS accomplishments from the last year, including extending the Academy’s reduced membership rate for early career otolaryngologists from one to two years and the introduction of travel grants for YPS members, which has been provided for the Section for Residents and Fellows-In-Training in years past. This was followed by a fantastic and engaging presentation titled “FAIL is Not a Four-Letter Word: Why Success is More Likely When You’re Willing to Fail,” by Jennifer M. Heemstra, PhD, assistant professor of chemistry at Emory University. Her talk struck a chord with the YPS members in attendance and generated a great deal of interactive discussion during the Q&A portion of the hour.

Looking ahead the YPS has several exciting projects planned throughout the year, all of which will incorporate this year’s theme of diversity and inclusion.

In spite of the unusual circumstances 2020 has brought about, the YPS is energized to bring great programming and activities to life on behalf of our members. We look forward to a productive year ahead of collaboration and inclusion.


2021 YPS Governing Council

As the new YPS Chair, it is my great honor to introduce the 2021 Governing Council:

Nausheen Jamal, MD, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley School of Medicine

Yi-Chun Carol Liu, MD, Texas Children’s Hospital / Baylor College of Medicine

Nikhila P. Raol, MD, Emory University

Manan Shah, MD, Advanced ENT & Allergy Center

Nominating Committee:
Claire M. Lawlor, MD, Children’s National Hospital
Matthew Smith, MD, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

BOG Governor (Governance and Society Engagement Committee and Chair, YPS Nominating Committee)
David S. Cohen, MD (Immediate Past Chair), Southern California Permanente Medical Group

BOG Alternate Governor (Socioeconomic & Grassroots Committee)
Kristan P. Alfonso, MD, Emory University

BOG Alternate Governor (Legislative Affairs Committee)
Boris Paskhover, MD, Rutgers New Jersey Medical School

American Board of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery Liaison
Lyndy J. Wilcox, MD, Vanderbilt University Medical Center

American Medical Association YPS Delegate
Michael Schlewet, MD, Carney Hospital

ENT PAC Delegate
Ann W. Plum, MD, State University of New York Downstate Medical Center